The feeling of losing someone you truly care about can be very painful. Of course, difficult feelings of anger, sadness, and pain are all common emotions for individuals to feel when coping with the loss of a friend or family member. No matter how sudden or traumatic your loss may be, understanding the stages of grief is the first step to healing emotional pain. Thomas-Marcom makes it a priority to help families through this time of grief by providing educational pamphlets, referrals to group counseling, and more.

What Is Grief?

Psychiatrist Elisabeth Kubler-Ross coined the “five stages of grief” in 1969 after working with patients suffering from terminal illness. The five stages she discovered include:

  • Denial: “This can’t really be happening.”
  • Anger: “Who is to blame for making this happen?”
  • Bargaining: “Please, let this not be true. If it isn’t true, I will…”
  • Depression: “I’m simply too sad to do anything.”
  • Acceptance: “I understand and accept what has happened.”

These five stages of grief may occur in or completely out of order, and largely depends on the individual affected. In fact, some individuals may not feel each of these stages in full, and that is perfectly fine. If you or someone you know is struggling with grief, don’t hesitate to contact us for assistance with grief recovery.

Guiding Grief

For immediate support and to learn more about the grieving process, view our Guiding Grief Interactive Support Video. Here, you will be guided through steps to help you find answers to many questions about grief and suggestions for your own healing or help with someone else’s healing. Gain an understanding and acceptance of how necessary the process is, and know that you will get through it. Watch this video to know you are not alone.